Impossible Germany, Incredible Band…Wilco

Wilco, Sky Blue Sky – Favorite Things 2007

While working today, I had Wilco’s Sky Blue Sky playing in the background. What an amazing album. Truly one of the musical gems of 2007 if not of the modern era of rock. As I type this, I am listening to the amazing guitar solo on “Impossible Germany,” envious, mesmerized, and completely delighted to be given the chance to soak in such beauty. I picked this album up the day it came out, and have damn near worn the thing out now that December is here. Melancholy and hopeful, melodic yet inventive, this is one of my favorite things for 2007. Every time I listen I discover some new subtle nuance about the album. From the haunting vocal harmonies on You Are My Face, to the gritty “Hate It Here” – which evokes warm sounds of the late Beatles / early John Lennon, to the hopeful lyrics of “White Light” the album is a work of beauty and a creative masterpiece.

What are your favorite things about 2007 – musical and otherwise?

More to come from me on this…

1 Response to “Impossible Germany, Incredible Band…Wilco”


  1. 1 Danny December 14, 2007 at 8:31 am

    Dave – I have to admit I’ve never heard of this group and I am now anxious (after reading your stellar review/comments) to check the album out…thanks!

    I’m going to show my age here…my favorite musical moment from 2007 was going to see Genesis at Nationwide arena in Columbus a couple of months ago with my younger brother (couldn’t convince Rebecca that it would be worth the money!). It would’ve been great if they could’ve talked Peter Gabriel and Steve Hackett into joing the gig, but Phil, Tony & Mike are the core I grew up with and they sounded fantastic after a 10+ year layoff. Their touring over the last 30 years has been greatly enhanced by having the same two guys join them for every tour – Darryl Struemmer on guitar, Chester Thompson on drums – and these five guys simply rocked the house that night! They cut a CD of the actual concert which I’ll cherish forever.


Leave a Reply

