Why Dayton Marketing Community on Squidoo?

In addition to maintaining this site, voice, I also maintain a site on Squidoo.com called Dayton Marketing Community. The site is designed to serve as a resource for Marketing Professionals in the Dayton, Ohio area. It has job postings that are updated every 1/2 hour, a calendar of events featuring the latest happenings around town, local business news from the Dayton Business Journal and the Dayton Daily News, and a variety of links to other employment, networking, and professional sites. The site is very easy to find. Simply type the words “Dayton Marketing” into Google and there I am – or at least there I should be. Pretty cool eh?

When I tell people about the site I often get the question “Why did you put it together?”

Well, there are several reasons behind the creation of Dayton Marketing Community, many of which I will share with you in this post.

First, as someone who has been forced to look for employment a few times in the last few years, I know how hard it can be to simply find job postings. When I was looking, I found myself saying “I wish there was one site I could go to and find everything that is out there.” So, when Squidoo came along, I thought to myself, here is a way to make that happen. Certainly I don’t claim to have everything that is posted out there, but I can promise you a great place to start. With links to sites like simplyhired.com, emurse.com, jobster.com, creativehotlist.com as well as the usual suspects, the site serves as a good home base for finding employment.

Next, as I was interviewing and searching I began to better understand the power of networking. I found myself searching high and low for professional events where I could build my network, but discovered that it was really difficult to find much of what was happening around town. Thus the Dayton Marketing Community Calendar made it possible for me to aggregate events like local chamber functions, AMA, Ad Club, PRSA, IABC, and the litany of other groups that meet into one simple place. Now when I plan my week, I look at my appointments, find holes in my calendar, and fill them with networking events by simply checking the calendar. Just that easy.

The next benefit I discovered is directly related to the last one. Something else I learned was that the more new people that attend the events I attend, the more value for me to attend the event. I am going there to meet people and build my network, so by making it easy to find out what is going on in town, not only is it easier for me to attend, it is easier for others to do the same. I would not be so bold as to say that my calendar is the focal point of people seeking out events around town, but it is a start. I have referred several local professionals to the site, and occasionally someone will contact me with a note of thanks – a new connection.

Finally, at least for this post, the site has helped me to become more connected with the community in which I live. By knowing more about what is happening, I am better equipped to contribute professionally and personally to my community. The site has let me know who is hiring, who is making news, what group is involved in what cause and how effectively they operate.

Should you be someone in the field of marketing, living in or around Dayton, Ohio, I hope you will give the site a look. As always constructive feedback is welcomed.

Dayton Marketing Community on Squidoo

1 Response to “Why Dayton Marketing Community on Squidoo?”


  1. 1 David Esrati March 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    And don’t forget the list of ad agencies that aren’t The Next Wave- http://www.thenextwave.biz/tnw/?page_id=49
    the list that’s so good- other agencies steal it 🙂
    There is a proverb- that you have to give up power to gain it.
    By open sourcing and sharing information- we all grow stronger. It’s a global economy- if we can’t help each other- we’ll never make it.
    Thank you for contributing this valuable resource.
    And remember- it’s no longer the Dayton Ad Club- unfortunately- they now insist on being called the “Greater Dayton Advertising Association”- as if there is now a Greater and Lesser Dayton.


Leave a Reply

