Superbowl XLI – Commercials

This morning I had the pleasure of sitting down with Nathan Baker from WKEF, Channel 22, to talk about the commercials that aired during the Superbowl last night. I must admit that last night was the first time I ever took notes during a football game. I sat with my family by my side, feverishly jotting notes on each and every spot so that I would be prepared for live televsion, where the potential for disaster loomed large in my mind. Here are some of my thoughts on the big game.

Looking back over my notes this morning I noticed that the words CBS Promo appeared way too many times. How many times do I need to know that CSI (all 3 of them) is on CBS. Oh yeah, there are also 5 other shows where they solve crimes in less than an hour. NCIS, Criminal Minds, Numb3rs, blah, blah… I don’t understand why the networks don’t put the same value on creativity that the advertisers do. Boring CBS commercial came one after another. Still, I will give them credit for the Letterman / Oprah spot for the Late Show. It was laugh out loud funny. They should have put the same effort into promoting their other shows.

As for the ads themselves, I asked friends and family to email me their thoughts on the commercials following the game. I thought that a little unscientific polling data may help me to clarify my thoughts, and might uncover some interesting trends. This much I can tell you. There was no unanimous favorite. Everyone I polled liked the Bud ads and had a few other favorites too. What was very clear was that everyone really disliked the Godaddy and SalesGenie spots.

Personally I loved the Coke parody of Grand Theft Auto. Visually appealing, good message, plenty of product exposure and a good twist. A home run in my book.  The Robert Goulet Emerald Nuts ad was another favorite, as was the Bud Light Rock Paper Scissors ad.  The KFed ad was funny, but I, and the rest of America, had already seen it, talked about it, and heard the punch line long before it aired.  Jokes just are not quite as funny the 10th time you hear them.  Next time around, they should keep KFed under wraps until the game, or create an alternate ending for the television version.

Still, there was no one particular ad that just blew me away.  Around the “water-cooler” there was a lot of talk, about how good a few ads were, how average most were,  how bad several were, and how not one was truly great.  Much like the game itself, there were highlights, lowlights, a lot of costly fumbles, and in the end the favorite (Anheuser Busch) came out on top.

What were your favorites?

By the way the interview went very well. Thanks to Nathan Baker and 22 for making the experience so much fun. Thanks to all of my poll participants too. Your feedback was very helpful, very diverse, and very funny.

YouTube – Broadcast Yourself.

2 Responses to “Superbowl XLI – Commercials”


  1. 1 Shade Wade February 6, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Hey! Do you have a recording of your appearance? Wouldn’t you know, that we had everything set to record at 8:00 and at 7:50 the cable went out!!!! The only local reception that we could get was CBS (so we had the opportunity to watch more of those CBS promos). I’m sure you were great!

  2. 2 david bowman February 6, 2007 at 11:06 am

    I am working on getting a copy. I have not seen it yet, at least from the other side of the camera. I will try to send you a copy.


Leave a Reply

