Don’t You Step On My Blue Suede Shoes

About 5 years ago, Adidas stopped making my favorite shoe of all time, The Gazelle, arguably the worlds finest hacky sack playing kickers.  I have searched high and low for a pair of them for ages, with no luck.  Yesterday, while running errands with my family, I glanced into a shoestore and spied a pair of suede Puma’s very similar to my old favorite adidias kicks.  I went in to examine them, but decided I would shop around a little.  Well 2 hours later, I was lamenting the fact that I did not get them, and decided that I was just going to break down and buy them at another mall that we were headed to.  We walked the mall, checking prices and availability, and I concluded that when I got to my last stop, The Finish Line, I would buy the Pumas if they had them.  As I entered the store, I thought I was hallucinating.  Could it be true?  There on the wall, next to the Pumas I had now become obsessed with, were 2 pair of shoes that looked to be…ADIDAS GAZELLE’s.  Was it so.  The answer is no.  They were not adidas gazelles.  They were the new adidas campus, which is basically the gazelle with different tread on the bottom.  At that point the Pumas were dead to me.  I tried them on and knew that my feet had found their long lost friends.  My new blue suede shoes.jpgblue suede shoes.  Why adidas took away the Gazelle, I do not know.  But my long wait to find them again has ended.  I see this as an omen of good things to come.  New job?  No problem.  Perhaps I can find a place that will even let me sport my new kicks.  Yes my wife thinks my obsession with them is unhealthy too.  Long live the gazelle, long live the Adidas Campus, and happy walking.

3 Responses to “Don’t You Step On My Blue Suede Shoes”


  1. 1 david bowman September 26, 2006 at 8:25 am

    UPDATE:
    My wife managed to find some Blue Gazelles at the Adidas outlet in Jeffersonville, Ohio – a gift which was much appreciated. I have my eyes open for them everywhere I go. I flat out love those shoes.

  2. 2 chewb' August 12, 2007 at 4:21 am

    nice, man! congratulations! i was looking for gazelles on the internet and stumbled upon your blog 😛

    Now to find some store that ships the *campus* to europe. Or a store from here that has them.

    thanks for the info! 😉

  3. 3 david bowman August 13, 2007 at 10:39 am

    chewb’,

    I discovered another source for Gazelles recently, endless.com. It is run by AMAZON. The selection constantly varies, but I scored some awesome black gazelles for 20 bucks a couple weeks ago. I need to put up a post about that. Great site, worth checking into. Thanks for the comment and for visiting the site.


Leave a Reply

