Worst High School Class?

High school brings back thousands of fondmrhand.jpg memories. School pizza on Tuesday, school spicoli.jpgpizza on Thursday, no bake cookies, study hall, gym class, talent shows…the list goes on and on. I learned a lot in those years. Still there were some classes I could have probably done without. So, my question for you is, What was the worst class you had to take in high school, and why? This will not go down on your permanent record…or will it? Please vote on Quimble then come back and leave your comments below.
Worst High School Class

History

Chemistry

Biology

English

Geometry

Typing (remember typing?)

Health

French

Spanish

German

Social Studies

Algebra

Home Economics

Powered by Quimble – Create and Share Polls

Quimble – Polls done right

Thanks to all who played along last week. The comment of the week goes to my sister Becky. Not only did she slip in the funny one-liner, but by virture of the fact that no one else commented, she wins by default. Very nice work, and congratulations on your gold medal Beck!  The poll was a tie between ESPN and the like & the boradcast networks.

7 Responses to “Worst High School Class?”


  1. 1 david February 17, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    No offense to my high school French teacher, but that class represents 1 hour a day, 5 days a week, for 2 years of my life that I will never get back. French? What was I thinking? I was able to sleep through most of it, so that makes up for it a little, but that class was by far the worst. Now Health class was a total waste of time, but we got to goof around so that redeemed it. My advice, have your kids take Spanish or better yet Mandarin. Just say non. Au Revoir.

  2. 2 Danny February 17, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    My H.S. German teacher drove me to French class. This unibrowed monstosity has ended up acting in many a comedy movie since, I’m sure (envision a 6-foot, dark-haired Janet Reno…you got the picture). The beast refused to speak English at ALL and gave us fake German names if our own didn’t translate well.

    Dan (aka Rolf)

  3. 3 Rules February 17, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    AP Physics (That’s “Advanced Placement” Tony, not Associated Press”). Seriously, who really cares how fast a 100 ton train moving 16 mph on a -4 degree downhill track can come to a halt using with 2200 psi airbrakes? Unless of course, you are stuck on the track, in which case, here’s an idea – get the $%*# out of the car!

  4. 4 Becky February 17, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Biology. I had it first period, and we had to dissect stuff like frogs and worms. Like, eeww, gross me out!

    So then I picked Zoology as my college major and had to do more of the same, except with live frogs this time – killing them, cutting off their legs, and sending an electrical current through the leg muscles to watch how we could still make the leg move. Nice. Everybody suddenly wanted the lone redneck pre-med major in their lab group after that because he already had experience in these sort of activities.

    I changed my major to communications shortly after that.

  5. 5 david February 17, 2006 at 8:28 pm

    I still remember Biology with Mr. McFann expaining the Mitochondria as the “Powerhouse” and some nonsense about the resteurante Krebs Cycle. Andy Wade and I had a lot of fun with that guy, although I don’t know Mr. McFann would agree. Never learned anything from cutting stuff up except it looked less vivid than the pictures and smelled much worse. The squid was the worst. Nasty.

  6. 6 Jim February 17, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    All of them, not because of the subjects, but due to high school in general. My high school (hint – Catholic high school in Kettering) was, and still is, a training ground for all good country-clubbing, back-stabbing, social climbers from the upper middle class white suburbia of Dayton. I just didn’t hate high school. I despised it.

    I didn’t have fun until I went to college. And then I had too much fun.

    High school should be a starting point toward adulthood and maturity. Not a stopping point.

    Sorry for the rant, but it’s been a bad week.

    With that said, anything related to math.

  7. 7 Doug February 18, 2006 at 1:59 am

    Being a teacher in a middle school myself, I can’t badmouth the educational system too much except to say that Mr. Garver, the algebra teacher at KR, was a DOUCHEBAG. It was hilarious to go to class and watch him act like a badass, then fall off his stool that he never got off of! Yeah, it happened. It wasn’t the material (that I don’t remember) that made it so bad, it was the fact that he would sit in front of the class at the overhead projector and sloppily lick a paper towel to erase it and then CHEW and EAT his own arm hair! Ask any KR grad that had the displeasure of sitting through one of his whisker buffets. All in all, the experience was pretty good. I mean after all, I met some of my closest friends during my 6 years of high school – just kidding (it was 7).


Leave a Reply

