Best College Beer? Friday Fun Poll

College!

Sad but true, but on a bad week in college I probably drank more beer that I now consume annually. What makes a great college beer? Cheap, 17th one goes down as smooth as the first, comes back up smooth, goes down smooth again. The question is “What is THE quintessential college beer?”

Best College Beer? CAST YOUR VOTE
Once you vote, come on back and explain yourself!
Please leave a comment below.

The Winner of Last Week’s Poll “The Personal Computer.” The PC just barely beat out Duct Tape and The Microwave Oven as the greatest invention since sliced bread. Thanks to everyone who voted and commented.  The comments continue to kill me.

15 Responses to “Best College Beer? Friday Fun Poll”


  1. 1 david January 27, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    While I must admit that I consumed thousands of gallons of all of these, the beer of choice was always Natural Light. It was marketed as “The Beer with the Taste for Food,” which meant you could buy it, get blasted, and still have enough cash left for Taco Bell or Ramen Noodles. I wanted to write a jingle for Natural Light, and try to sell it to Anheuser Busch; not realizing that they probably spend more money on cleaning up the crap from the Budwieser horses than they do on marketing Natty Light. I fondly remember variations like Natural (regular in the Gold Can), Natural Ice, and the great debate about the Logo/Label Change of 1993. Once, my buddy the Kid was asked by his dad, who had grown tired of us drinking all of his PBR,  “Son, what is a beer that nobody will want to drink out of my fridge?”  With a straight face he replied “Natural Light.”  Needless to say his dad’s problem of missing beer was not solved.  In the final analysis I conclude that for my buck, (actually it’s about 50 cents) I’ll take a Natty sir. Longneck if you’ve got em.

  2. 2 Becky January 27, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    You’d have to go down a rung or two in the heirarchy of beers to locate the category from which we (Miami U., 1983-87) imbibed. There was Old Dutch ($2.99 a 12-pack); Old Style (imported from Chicago!!) Senior year, in preparation for drinkin’ in the ‘real world’, we graduated up to Natural Light. But the best beer for playing quarters (I could have made the varsity squad if they’d had one) was Schaeffer Light. Mmmm…smooth!

  3. 3 david January 27, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    Mmm…The Schaef Dogs! I can tell you from memory that a 12 pack of Schaeffer Light at the Northridge Drive-Thru was a mere $3.60. A weekend of fun provided from the change of your KR lunch money!

  4. 4 Danny January 27, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    Dave – VERY disappointed to see that the true ‘Best College Beer’ isn’t a choice…how could Hamm’s not make the list?!? And most Cincy kids grew up on HudyPop (aka Hudy Delight). Both were cheap and ‘got the job done’. Since I had to vote, I went for Old Milwaukee…a 3rd option when the other 2 weren’t available. These were the ’79 – ’83 “Beers of Miami” (paving the way for the class of beers [or lack of class, I should say] that Becky mentions…

  5. 5 david January 27, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    Hamm’s had a cartoon mascot. It was a dancing bear. It was hilarious. You can bet that you will not see a cartoon shilling brew for a major company in this day and age. Ahh the good ol’ days. Our children are truly deprived.

  6. 6 Jeff Coultas January 27, 2006 at 6:46 pm

    I saw the funniest thing last week. I am pulling thru the drive thru and the car in front of me gets a 22 oz. can of Natty Light and 1 role of John Wayne towel paper. Now that’ that is some funny stuff. My vote today is for the Natty. The beer that 90% of its distribution is drank on the front porches of white trash and college keggers. I think there is still a rusty old can in the fork of the huge tree were Dusty and I were playing beer can hoops. Lastly can you believe what it did for David Bowman’s love life for over a decade.

  7. 7 Doug January 28, 2006 at 12:30 am

    At age 18, I wallpapered my room with flattened Natty Light 12 packs.
    My mom: “Where did you get those?”
    Me (with a straight face): “Jenny. Oh, and I found some.”

    I drank the Nat almost exclusively through college (all 5 and a half years). I would occasionally swith up, but only if the bar I was at didn’t have “God’s Milk” as we called it. Now that I’m rich and famous, I still sometimes slum it and buy a sixer of the greatest college beer of all time. And I can usually count on Derek to have a couple of ’em around if i want to take a trip down memory lane.

  8. 8 Jeff Coultas January 28, 2006 at 5:41 am

    MMM God’s Milk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. 9 colleen January 28, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    I am not sure what is wrong with all of you Springfield cats but in Engletucky we did it right. Keystone Light…bottled beer in a can.

  10. 10 Joe June 8, 2006 at 11:45 pm

    Dude…I’m 43 and still cheap! I love college beer. Found your blog do a Google on collge beer for my blog. You’re the KING of college beer blogs. Just bought a 12 pak of Pabst Blue Ribbon for $4.99

    I also make my own beef jerky w/o a dehydrator. All natural baby.

    Drink on kids…be responsibile…your folks aren’t paying big $$ for you to act like fools. When in doubt, think DUKE!

  11. 11 Sam August 24, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    I’m still in school and I drink Nattie Ice or Light because it is only $12 for a 30 pack and like $45 for kegs. Keystone is almost $18 for 30 packs.

  12. 12 Ben February 13, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Although Im not in college yet, I have had my fair share of “college beers” i used to i went through a busch light phase, then a natty ice phase, no im goin through my keystone light phase, i must say thogh, busch light and keystone light are my 2 favorites 🙂

  13. 13 tom August 28, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    i have made love to all of these beers many times. and when i think back i really can’t remember much. so i say drink them all. and if you’re going to drink these sorts of beer, you might as well do it in style:

    http://chugthatbeer.com/index.php?entry=entry070821-085348

    peace out y’all!

  14. 14 lil t January 25, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    i try new beers almost every time me and my bud make a packy run … i picked keystone cause it tastes better tho busch lights not bad … even cheaper on that list im surprised that milwaukeess best ice didn’t make it tho its hard to find in a lotta package stores, same with keystone ice

  15. 15 Justin May 31, 2008 at 11:57 am

    $18 for a case of Keystone? Wow, are you getting ripped off. Out in western PA, Natty Ice is around 12 a case, Keystone around 14. We usually get Keystone since it tastes better. Sometimes\’s we’ll get Miller Lite ($18) if we feel like having some real beer.


Leave a Reply

