Audacity: Free Recording Software

Hot on the heels of my waxing poetic about the good old days of making music with Derek and Dustin, I submit this post about the fantastic free audio recording software Audacity. This software can be installed and downloaded easily, and allows you to record virtually anything. The software has multi-tracking capablilities, built in effects, mixing features, click tracks, and more. You can use it to record live music, convert old cassettes and records to MP3 or WAV files, splice files, and even record streaming audio. For anyone interested in music on the cheap, Audacity is worth a look. I am excited to experiment more with it, and I am pondering how to use it as a virtual studio for multiple users in separate locations. The possibliities are pretty exciting. Voice your thoughts on audacity by leaving a comment below.
Audacity: About Audacity

13 Responses to “Audacity: Free Recording Software”


  1. 1 .aNDREW sISNEROS March 6, 2006 at 2:18 am

    I have just completed a recording session using Audacity 124. It contains 15 tracks of meditations and prayers by my wife Connie,using a Native American Flutist with for smooth background music. This program is out of this world. I would compare my sound against anyone’s sound and I will come out on top. How do I know you ask?? I’ve been using Sonar for years. Well, no more!!! Audacity is here to stay, at least at “Consuelo Music Ministries”. We are now in the process of recording two different cd’s. A Bi_Lingual Christian Music for the Consuelo Label and one in English by a little kid’s band named “VITAL FORCE”

  2. 2 iran valles May 1, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    this is a nice program

  3. 3 santosh May 28, 2006 at 2:00 am

    It is very useful

  4. 4 santosh May 28, 2006 at 2:03 am

    i want to used for my personal reference.

  5. 5 santosh May 28, 2006 at 2:44 am

    gfhsdfghdfghdfghd

  6. 6 santosh May 28, 2006 at 3:16 am

    it is a very useufl

  7. 7 Shardell September 5, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    I like this program it’s very helpful with my music!

  8. 8 chan ab September 17, 2006 at 10:35 am

    thank u.i was searching to get audio software long long time.

  9. 9 MOE September 27, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    I LIKED THE PROGRAM. IT WAS VERY NICE WHEN I RECORD MY GUITAR SOLOS

  10. 10 Br Maeriua Tekaai September 28, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    It is very interesting when you have this kind of progarme it makes all my work easier, as a musician.

  11. 11 SANJU September 29, 2006 at 1:49 pm

    wow that is wonderfull

  12. 12 senthil February 3, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    its good dude

  13. 13 Cory March 22, 2007 at 6:28 am

    I can’t believe this program is free. Sure, there a few limitations, but jeez…this is incredible


Leave a Reply

