Friday Fun Poll – Since Sliced Bread

“What is the greatest thing since sliced bread?” It is impossible to list everything invented since 1928, but here is a list of some of my favorite things invented since sliced bread. Which one do you think is the best? Vote and then tell everyone why your choice is the right one by leaving your comments here on voice.

Since Sliced Bread

Last Week’s Poll Results:
Richard Pryor brought home the Gold Medal in last weeks poll, with Chevy Chase taking silver, and Rodney Dangerfield getting some respect with the bronze. Most interesting to me was the fact that John Belushi did not garner a vote. I thought he was a contender. Thanks to everyone who voted and left comments. They are the best part of this whole little science project. Keep them coming.

14 Responses to “Friday Fun Poll – Since Sliced Bread”


  1. 1 BB January 20, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    Has to be the microwave – 2reasons:
    1. Without the microwave about 3/4 of all the restaurants we love would be out of business because they’d have no way to “cook” the
    food they get that’s already been cooked somewhere else.
    2. Without the microwave Dave would have died from starvation at age 7 – Stouffer’s pepper steak and microwave pizza couldn’t be made any other way.

  2. 2 david January 20, 2006 at 3:55 pm

    Mmm…Pepper Steak. I think I must have eaten about 4,000 of those cooked up in the Old Amana RadarRange. Yum. You make a good point.

  3. 3 Jack January 20, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    Canned Beer!

  4. 4 Jimmy January 20, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Cable Television – without cable where would I have looked at squiqqly lines on the pay-per-view stations and guessed whetherwhat i was seeing was boob or some other body part.

  5. 5 Becky January 20, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    Google! I use it as often as the microwave, and that’s saying something coming from a mom who doesn’t cook often!

  6. 6 david January 20, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    Maybe Google can find me some pepper steak! Mmm…

  7. 7 Danny January 20, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    Microwave, no doubt. You stick something in it, close the door, a light comes on, you take it out and it’s COOKED! No more pots and pans! No more dependency on a mom or a wife to keep you alive!
    It’s kind of like the magic of an elevator…

  8. 8 Blake January 20, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    Without a doubt it’s the electric guitar. If I didn’t have Eddie Van Halen’s riffs to expand my brain as a kid, I never would have learned how to use the rest of the items on the list. (except for maybe the canned beer–but Eddie taught me how to drink more of them!)

  9. 9 Kid January 20, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    Unfortunatley, these days the ole Personal Computer runs our lives. Imagine actually having to do standard math, looking for a phone number or an address in a telephone book, sitting down writing a letter to a friend, shopping at a store, self pleasure with a magazine ( opps shouldn’t admit that one)
    Plus if it wasn’t for the personal computer we would all have to do a conference call every Friday and talk live for this poll 🙂

  10. 10 Chad January 20, 2006 at 9:40 pm

    Come on guys, I can’t be the only one to vote for the Flowbee. It gives “The Best SUCKIN’ Haircut”. I’ve been wanting one of these for Christmas for years but have never got one. I just might have to put down $60 of my heard earned cash and buy it myself. I need to hurry while I’ve still got hair to cut.

  11. 11 Doug January 20, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    I had to give up runng marathons because I kept spilling my BEER, so I adopted a more sedentary activity, namely vegging in front of CABLE TV. TV dinner sales have skyrocketed since we now have 15,000 channels of nothing to watch while we consume bland, tasteless Hungryman wood au gratin with julienne cut foam rubber (desert – shoe leather souffle with crushed glass topping). Also stealing cable has taught millions the ins and outs of hooking up VCR’s, DVD players and ATARI. I only get on my PERSONAL COMPUTER if there’s nothing on tv. Ditto with the CELL PHONE, which works out well because laying in front of a tv, drunk, has somewhat hurt my social life. So as you can see, without cable tv, many of these other inventions would be obsolete, like my treadmill.

  12. 12 Kelly January 21, 2006 at 12:10 am

    Well as the second half (and better half if I must say so myself) of the Doug H. household, I have to agree with the cable TV invention. Otherwise, imagine what my life would be like if Doug did not have cable to entertain himself! All I have to say is Adult ADD is real, case-in-point look at answer #10!

  13. 13 PhotoJim January 22, 2006 at 2:25 am

    First the internet, then the ow-fat, JIFF Peanut butter, followed by Coors Light in those extra-large, plastic models (which I can’t find anymore since the end of summer), then I’d say my Pocket PC, Google, this wireless laptop I’m using right now, digital photography (oops, I should have place that first on my list), Photoshop and finally, my battery-powered, Oral-B toothbrush. I’ll probably think of something else later on.

  14. 14 Stewart January 23, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    I’m going to have to submit a “write in” vote and remind us all that none of us (except maybe Kel) would have survived those lonely nights without the comfort of our 77% off, home-delivered, monthly Playboy subscriptions! I could really care less what form my bread takes, as long as my sausage is strong!


Leave a Reply

